Posted by: hyacinthus | August 21, 2011

I made char siew again…

Previously, I had used shaoxing wine, pork fillet and omitted fermented beancurd. This time, I added fermented beancurd and a little too much red colouring… otherwise, I like this version better 😉

Here’s the recipe from a cookbook which I adapted. I used pork shoulder butt instead of pork belly and reduced the amount of sugar used. Used more maltose because I like the glossy shine on the meat 🙂

Ingredients:

500g Pork Shoulder Butt
1 tbsp minced garlic

Marinate:

1 cube of fermented beancurd
2 tbsp of maltose
60g of caster sugar
1/2 tbsp light soy sauce
1/2 tbsp oyster sauce
1/2 tsp dark soy sauce
1/2 tsp Chinese 5 spice powder
1 tsp rose wine
Some red colouring (optional)

Method:

1. Mix marinate till sugar dissolves completely. ( I find this impossible. Probably, take a while ). Add to pork and garlic, mix well and marinate overnight.

2. Preheat oven at 200ºC. Arrange pork on roasting rack (I placed mine on aluminium foil in a silicon baking mould). Grill for 15min. Bring the meat out. Brush marinate over the meat. Continue to grill for another 20 – 30min until cooked. (I took meat out to brush with marinate about 2 more times within 30min. Final brushing should be with a little more maltose if u like glossy shine on the meat) Slice the meat and arrange on a plate.

3. Bring the remaining marinate to boil. Pour over the char siew. Serve.

Leave a Reply

Categories

