Posted by: hyacinthus | November 29, 2009

Chocolate Madeleines

I don’t have a Madeleine tin and do not want to eat so many Madeleines. My family members aren’t supporters of baked stuff as they think it’s heaty and fattening.

So, I used a kueh balu tin to try this Chocolate Madeleine Recipe. It’s surprisingly light with a slight crisp on the edges. Best of all, it works even when I halved the recipe and replaced all-purpose flour with wholemeal flour (I’ve 700g to clear 😦 )

This adapted recipe makes twelve 3cm chocolate madeleines.

Ingredients

1 egg
35g caster sugar
25g Wholemeal flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp cocoa powder
30g melted butter

Method

1. Preheat oven at 180ºC

2. Whisk egg and sugar in a bowl (a rice / soup bowl is sufficient) using a teaspoon.

3. Sift flour, baking powder and cocoa into the egg mixture and fold in melted butter.

4. Spoon a teaspoon mixture into each mould (greased with remaining melted butter) or 2/3 full each. ( I filled it to the brim as I have only one tin.

5. Bake for 10 minutes or when the Madeleines are set.

See the “skirting”? It will overflow if filled to the brim.

Simple to do and quick to finish 🙂

Responses

  1. I like how you use Kuih Balu tin to make this madeleines. They look lovely! I am glad you like the recipe. Thanks for the linking! 🙂

    • you have a wonderful blog! I’ll love to try other recipes too 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  2. yummy as always!

    Michael


Leave a Reply

Categories

