Posted by: hyacinthus | November 4, 2009

Orange Chiffon Cake

Pandan Chiffon Cake has always been my favourite tea-time cake, especially one bought from Bengawan Solo.

I challenged myself to try baking one this week. Searched many recipes and found one claimed to be of Bengawan Solo’s standard. When I looked at the ingredients, I was shocked! 300ml coconut milk and 9 eggs in a pandan chiffon cake?! That’s so unhealthy!

So, I tried Orange Chiffon Cake instead.

My first try begins…

An egg separator is good for separating egg yolk from egg white without the mess. Just make sure it’s over a bowl so that you do not have to hold it.

Orange Chiffon Cake

This is the Orange Chiffon Cake that I am going to bake. Try it. It’s yummy! 😀

Ingredients:
1 cup of Cake Flour
¾ tsp Baking powder

½ cup of Warm orange juice
Finely grated zest of 3 small oranges (I bought 5 small Sunkist oranges from Giant at S$1.50)

(Bought this grater at S$33 at Pantry Magic in Holland Village. The orange zest were so fine! 😀 )

Orange Chiffon Cake

5 egg yolks + 30g castor sugar + ¼ tsp salt
5 egg whites + 50g castor sugar + 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

¼ Cup of Corn oil
½ tsp Vanilla essence

Method:
1. Whisk egg yolk until creamy and light in colour. Add in corn oil then warm orange juice and vanilla essence.

Orange Chiffon Cake

2. Add flour and baking powder (sieved) into (1) lightly. Add orange zest.

3. Beat egg white using electric beater till big bubbles are formed. Sprinkle cream of tartar and beat till white. Add 50g sugar (a little at a time) and beat till stiff peaks are formed.

4. Pour 1/2 egg white into flour mixture in (3) and blend well. Fold in the remaining egg white mixture.

5. Bake at 180°C for 45 minutes.

6. Invert the chiffon cake tin to cool before taking the cake out of the tin.*

* This is important. Cos I was impatient, the cake sank. Simply can’t wait for it to cool cos it smells really good in the last few minutes of baking!

Top View

Orange Chiffon Cake

Bottom View (That’s the Chiffon Cake Tin. I got mine – 23cm from Phoon Huat at Holland Village for S$12.36)

Orange Chiffon Cake

Side View

Orange Chiffon Cake

Side View

Orange Chiffon Cake

My parents tried and liked the taste! Me too… I love it!

Will try pandan cake tomorrow! 😀

Responses

  1. Ok, I want to do also!

  2. It’s a much healthier version compared to Pandan Chiffon Cake. I think your family will like the orange chiffon cake too 🙂

    Do u have cream of tartar in Italy?

  3. […] Chiffon Cake 2 I baked Orange Chiffon Cake again! This time, rum was added instead of vanilla and I patiently waited an hour for the cake to […]

  4. […] out my first and second […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

