Posted by: hyacinthus | July 4, 2009

Should I Be a Property Matchmaker?

Met an ex-colleague, who resigned last year because he was tired of what he had been doing over the last 14 years and wished to spend more time with his children, this morning.

He has become a property agent clocking 20 hours a week.

Asked if he had made money like those agents highlighted in the papers, his answer was no.

I was asked to work with him for the next 2 – 3 months to try out the profession.

Discussed with my dad and he seemed supportive that I should take up his suggestion to try it out since I’ve not found another job yet. This ex-colleague seemed honest and trusting too.

I’m interested but unsure if I could do it.

Should I try it out?

Responses

  1. Why not take a look and see for a while without committing first?

    • i guess i can meet people to check out opportunities too 🙂

  2. no harm trying….its interesting from what I have heard from my frens. 🙂

  3. Hey Hya,

    It’s Chris from MHT. Just randomed by your blog via MHT today.

    I think first thing is you have to ask yourself why you want to do it, like your ex-colleague I also took this job on because it kind of gave me control over my time and allowed me to spend it with my kids (although you can kiss weekends goodbye).

    Once you decide what you want out of being a real estate agent you can then after a pretty good idea or just how much time you want to spend on the job, you can spend 20 hours a week or 20 hours a day and that’s one of the plus points about the job, if you put in the hard miles you’ll get rewarded.

    Like every job there’s good and bad points and one thing stands out for me, I have to say it’s physically and mentally very demanding, (well for me anyway) more demanding than what most would imagine, find a good mentor, learn the ropes, go for certification, I reckon you should do fairly well if you make a decent try of it, from what I seen in MHT you have your finger on a broad range of knowledge of the local property market. Good luck if you give it a go, look me up if you do ok? Cobroke anytime! lawl.

  4. No harm trying. Guess you have a passion for property. Besides, the pic does seems to have an agent look!

    All top agents better look out!!

    • I’ve turned down the request. Will KIV the idea for a while 🙂

      • Why not?


Leave a Reply

Categories

