Posted by: hyacinthus | June 9, 2009

Cotton Tree at Singapore Botanic Gardens :)

I was on my way to Jacob Ballas Children’s Garden 2 Saturdays ago… guess what I saw on my way there?

Cotton Tree in full bloom! Am I in Christmas Land on a Summer day or what? haha…

Cotton Tree

Cotton Tree

This is my second time seeing it in full bloom since my last post on Cotton Tree in 2007!

More close up pictures of the Cotton Tree! 🙂

Cotton Tree

Cotton Tree

Cotton Tree

Cotton Tree

Where can the Cotton Tree be found in Singapore Botanic Gardens?

I know there’s one at the Bukit Timah Core (near the Botanic Garden Station currently under construction and the Botanic Garden sidegate along Cluny Road) and another in Tanglin Core (near Taman Serasi Food Court)

Cotton Tree Location

Cotton Tree Location

This Cotton Tree is taken at the Bukit Timah Core 🙂

Cotton Tree

Cotton Tree

This is one amazing tree!!!

Do you know this Old Kapok Tree was planted in 1933 and was also known as the White Silk-Cotton Tree? 😉

Responses

  1. Gosh you are back to the blogging world! Welcome back! *hugs*

    Oh and the cotton tree looks cool and soft enough to make a pillow straight away, hehehe 🙂

  2. *hugs back*

    Congratulations! I saw your wedding coverage on your blog. Very good! 🙂

    I wonder if those cottons alone will make a good pillow though 😉

  3. Wow … there are cotton trees in Singapore?!

    Thanks for sharing. The photos are awesome!

  4. Yes. There are 🙂

    Thank u… I have more of those Cotton Tree pics… too many to post in a blog 🙂

  5. I was at the BG last Sunday with my friends to take graduation photographs and we posed with the tree. It was really beautiful, so much fun! And there was this particularly attractive red bug that likes the cotton too! They were everywhere! 🙂

    • u meant the cottons are still on the tree since then till now? amazing!

      Congrats! 🙂

  6. There are loads of cotton trees in Pasir Ris

  7. […] to find a page featuring an awesome cotton tree in full bloom (blooming cotton fibres!) at the Singapore Botanical Gardens. Then I recalled I did catch a shot of a cotton tree at Bollywood Veggies….here it […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

