Posted by: hyacinthus | October 4, 2007

Tanglin Village

I’ve placed this in the drafts for almost a week.

It was this SPH article that got me angry. I felt I had to clarify the names (though this has nothing to do with me!)

Tanglin Village is not in Dempsey Hill. This is easily verified using Google. Dempsey Hill is SLA‘s latest tenant in Tanglin Village. Furthermore, there’s no hill call Dempsey Hill in that area which was known as Tanglin Barracks before.

You don’t see Dempsey Hill but Tanglin Village signboard at the road entrance.  

Then, why the preconception that some people have? Probably, Dempsey Hill sounds hip and is better marketed than Tanglin Village.

Reference:
1.
SLA Press Release
2. History of Dempsey Hill
3. History of Tanglin Village

Responses

  1. Wow!

  2. Why don’t you just write in to clarify? Might be better than boiling at home 🙂

  3. I was angry this morning not because it was wrong.

    SPH should be responsible for what it wrote and published. I wouldn’t expect 100% correct. At least, do some basic checks on the facts before publishing them. That’s not top secret information.

    Mine’s a personal blog. But, at least I did some homework to check the facts before publishing it.

  4. This Dempsey area is so totally different from my time when I went to the CMPB there in the early 80s…

    Nice blog you have.

  5. Do you have pictures of the area then?

    You can post BEFORE pictures on your blog and I’ll do NOW pictures in similar angle on mine and we can cross link. That should be fun! 😉

    Thank you. you have an interesting blog on nostalgic stuff too 🙂

  6. That will be interesting Hyacinthus but I don’t have much photos of scenery as digital camera still not around then.

  7. if u have hardcopy, can scan. if not, we can try somewhere else! Like Raffles Place… I think it has beautiful colonial buildings like the Oglivy Building. Unfortunately, most are gone… :_(


Leave a Reply

Categories

