Posted by: hyacinthus | October 3, 2007

Mat Salah? Mat Salleh?

Ladyla accompanied me to Geylang Serai Bazaar after work yesterday. She’s such a sweet friend – insisted to bring me around even though she’s still fasting. Hug! 🙂

At the start of the tour, sky is bright and cheery.

So were the stall owners who were so cheery and friendly to me. Think I probably looked like a tourist or a reporter while she showed me what’s this and that.

We walked past stalls after stalls selling all sorts of stuff like carpets, paintings, flowers, food, clothes and more. Spending 1 hour plus is not enough if you want to see everything at the bazaar! I took about 200+ pictures in just 1 hour plus!

Carpets

Clothes and Sarong

Ladyla said that we must not forget those in need as well.

Know what’re these? Door knob covers.

Ketupat

Hari Raya Goodies

Ramly Burgers

This costs S$480

Flowers

Cars and Carpets

Shimmering lights!

Drinks?

Hand painting at S$5 per side.

Calligraphy

Wrapping papers at S$0.10 per piece

Bags and Accessories

Curtains

Cushion Covers

Curtain Clips

Toys!

Music CDs, incense burners and Shishas.

These money packets are Duit Raya in Malay (Thanks to Loving Mother for the translation!)

This is an estimated coverage of the area. If you just want to visit for a while, alight at Eunos MRT and you’ll see a huge white tentage along Sims Ave. There’s also a taxi stand along Sims Ave. More stalls (especially food) along Changi Rd stretch – all the way to Joo Chiat Complex.

It was dusk by the time we decided to go home.

I saw a Caucasian at the bazaar and turned to Ladyla.

“That’s Mat Salah, correct?”

Ladyla laughed and asked who taught me.

Penumbra69 taught me today!”

“Think she meant Mat Salleh

Finally, I found out that Mat Salah means wrong man and Mat Salleh means Caucasian. Haha… what a blur sotong I am.

Getting home at 7 plus yesterday was easy. Taxis queueing for customers.

Beautiful blue isn’t it?

The bazaar at Geylang will continue till 12 October 2007 this year.

Selamat Hari Raya to all! 🙂

Responses

  1. Hi, came by way of ping.sg. I love the pictures you took. It gives me a glimpse of what Geylang Serai looks like this year. I haven’t been to Geylang Serai during the Hari Raya season due to the crowds. I don’t deal well with crowds, so it’s nice to see pictures that capture the essence of the festivities there.

  2. Thanks Mintea for your comment! 🙂

    It wasn’t very crowded when we were there. Ladyla said it’s still good to walk before 7.30pm but not on Fridays and Weekends.

    The bazaar area is HUGE! It’s larger than what I had imagined. probably, it’s refreshing to me, find it more colourful and interesting than Chinese New Year’s bazaar at Chinatown.


Leave a Reply

Categories

