Posted by: hyacinthus | September 10, 2007

Yippee! Last Day of the Seventh Month

‘cos I don’t have to see these anymore (at least till the next Lunar Seventh Month)

 

No burning on state land. I only spotted one such sign so far at Dawson estate 🙂

From the buddhist perspective, burning paper stuff to the dead serves no purpose. 

Flowers and food offerings are probably good enough to pay respect to the dead.

 

I think it’ll take at least 1 or 2 generations’ time to discontinue such a practice of burning incense papers.

Reference: Myths of the (Lunar) Seventh Month from the buddhist perspective by Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastry

Responses

  1. What about the perspectives that think that burning paper stuff to the dead serves some purpose?

  2. People are entitled the rights to what they believe in. 🙂

    For me, I am an atheist and I don’t believe in burning stuff for the dead too. I believe in loving and doing things for my love ones when they are alive.

    I do find the burning practice cute though… see the number of zeros on the hell money… there must be hell lot of inflation somewhere out there. lol…

  3. Well.. i don’t believe in burning stuff either. But this practice, seems to me, has become more cultural than religious. I thought it quite sad that a portion of Singaporeans would be losing this bit of culture in the generations to come, albeit a less smoky atmosphere.

    I guess that’s just me being sentimental : )

  4. Well who knows?

    Someone may create an online website for Singaporean Chinese where by an activation of a button, virtual burning of incense paper is possible? 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

