Posted by: hyacinthus | August 11, 2007

Ah Ma Popiah

Have you eaten popiah before? It’s a hokkien dish. I realised how much I missed my ah ma (Grandma) when my mum cooked popiah for dinner.

This was on my dinner table.

Popiah Skin from Tee Yih Jia. In 1990, Tee Yih Jia commissioned the statues of 8 Chinese legendary heroes for the Marina City Park’s Sculpture Garden, which costs about $1 million. It was a memorable occasion for Tee Yih Jia when the eight statues were officially unveiled by the Honorable Prime Minister of Singapore then – Mr Goh Chok Tong. However, what had happened to the statues as Marina City Park has closed since 1 June 2007 so that work can begin on Gardens by the Bay?

How do I make my popiah?
#1 – Lay the popiah skin flat on a plate.

#2 Place some lettuce

#3 Add the popiah vegetables

#4 Put some sweet sauce and ground peanut
 

#5 Add fried egg

#6 Roll it

#7 Eat it! haha. 🙂

It’s not easy to take pictures and roll a popiah at the same time! That must be my worst popiah ever rolled. ;p

Responses

  1. Hi the steps to rolling the popiah is like that scene in the movie Kids, where the guy was showing the other skaters how to roll a blunt.

    Were you paying homage to the great Larry Clark?

  2. erm… sorry, I don’t know who is Larry Clark.


Leave a Reply

Categories

